How to Block Someone on Facebook Messenger

0 244

We all deserve our privacy and it is not with that even on your own mobile you’re bugged so much as there is nothing you could do about it.

Before it gets to that, you can place a block against anyone that is intruding on your privacy on Facebook messenger.

It’s time to block them so you don’t get any more messages from a certain number of people or faces.

- Advertisement -

What happens when you block someone on Messenger

When you block someone in Messenger, you will no longer receive messages or chat requests from a blocked user; you also won’t be able to contact them.

In addition, if the person you want to block is in a group conversation, you will be notified before entering the chat. If you decide to join a chat with a blocked person, they will be able to communicate with you in the context of that conversation.

It’s important to understand that blocking someone on Facebook Messenger doesn’t block them on the entire Facebook platform – just from contacting you through the Messenger platform.

Top Mobile Apps to Call Nigeria for Free (Android & iOS)

- Advertisement -

How to block someone on Facebook Messenger

If you decide you want to block a person, follow the instructions below to do so from the Messenger website or mobile app.

How to initiate block from Facebook Messenger Website

1. Let’s start by going to the official Messenger website in your web browser.

2. If you haven’t logged in yet, log in with your Facebook credentials.

3. Scroll down to the person you want to block and hover over an existing conversation with your mouse.

4. When you hover a pointer to the right side of the name, you’ll see a gear symbol- click on it.

5. Choose to block messages and confirm this decision.

How to Block someone on Facebook Messenger Mobile app

1. Start by opening the Messenger mobile app on your iOS or Android smartphone.

2. If you haven’t logged in yet, log in with your Facebook credentials.

3. Scroll down to the person you want to block and hold your finger on the name until a pop-up dialog appears.

4. Choose”more option/more”in the dialog window.

5. Choose”block messages/block”and click”Ready.”

Does anyone know I blocked them?

--advertisement--

While Facebook clearly doesn’t tell a person that you’ve blocked it, it may not be easy for that person to discover the truth. When a person tries to contact you, a message will be sent saying that “this person is not available at the moment.”

A simple web search will show that this message is displayed to people who have been blocked on the platform. If you’re worried that someone has found that they’re blocked, you can choose to “ignore” option, which we’ll cover in detail below.

How to Unblock when you change your mind

If you decide to unlock the person and let them communicate with you, follow the instructions below for the appropriate platform.

Instructions for Messenger website

1. Let’s start by going to the official Messenger website in your web browser.

2. If you haven’t logged in yet, log in with your Facebook credentials.

3. Choose settings in the top left corner. In the drop-down menu, select the Settings option from the list.

4. In the “Lock” section, click on”Manage on Facebook.”

5. In the open window in the “Message Lock” section, select which person you want to unlock and click next to the name “unlock.” After that, the interlocutor will be unlocked again.

Instructions for the Messenger mobile app

1. Let’s start with the opening of the Messenger app on iOS or Android.

2. If you haven’t logged in yet, log in with your Facebook credentials.

3. Click on your Messenger profile picture in the top left corner.

4. Scroll down to people and click on it in the list.

5. Click on the locked option.

6. Choose the person you want to unlock.

An alternative to blocking someone

If you feel linke not blocking someone, you can completely ignore their messages. When you choose to ignore a person rather than block them, they will be shown that their messages have been sent.

You won’t see their messages immediately on your device; instead, they will be transferred to your inbox.

To ignore someone in Messenger, follow the steps above for your respective platform, but if you receive a query, select ignore Messagesinstead blocking.

To access your online message requests, visit the Messenger website, select Large Gear in the top left corner of the”Message Requests” website.

To see your requests for messages in the app, open the Messenger app on iOS or Android on”Messages Requests.”

How to pay Port Hacourt (PHED) Electricity Bill Online

To reverse the process of ignoring an individual, simply select their message in your inbox and click the response button at the bottom of the message to return your conversation to your regular inbox.

--advertisement--

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.