Who is the current Chief of Justice of Nigeria in 2021?


Nigerian Justice systems consist of the different types of law we have in Nigeria, the court, offences and the parties.

Nigerian constitution was created and established on 29th May 1999 and every law that is being practiced today in Nigeria is referenced from there.

The rule of law cannot that the law is supreme and is above every person in the state and this is applicable to Nigeria because the country is a democratic state.

- Advertisement -

However there are four different types of Lego systems currently in Nigeria that you should take note of and these include common law, English law, customary law, and Sharia which is the Islamic law.

Nigeria is legal system was adopted from the colonial Masters which were the British and this kind of law is called the English law, Nigeria is common law that was also derived from the post-colonial Independence era in Nigeria.

The customary law is the one which most people know of because it is taken from the indigenous traditional rules culture norms and practices Caprice the examples are the okonko of Igbo land, The Ekpe of the pre-colonial Yoruba land.

Also the Islamic law is known as Sharia law and is dominant in northern Nigeria due to the Islamic religion which is dominant in that part of the country. As I’ve been using the note it is also used in Lagos State where there are some Muslim it won’t from the Yoruba tribe.

Getting to law as an institution the highest court of law in Nigeria is the Supreme Court of Nigeria which is followed by the tier 2 courts that is the court of appeal.

This court of appeal selves and they called that brooms the logo system closer to the people and it is 16 that are located in Nigeria it is being headed by the president of the Appeal Court who is being assisted by several justices.

- Advertisement -

Tier 3 level of legal institutions in Nigeria includes the federal high Court the high Court of of the State, customary court of appeal of the State and the Sharia court of law.

After this is the lowest level of courts in Nigeria which is the tier 4 courts – it includes the customary courts, the Sharia Court and the magistrate court.

However, the other types of courts that been set up in Nigeria also are known as election tribunals and code of conduct tribunal.

Under the election tribunals Dara the national assembly election tribunal and this kind of tribunals deal with petitions sent from the Senate and House of Representatives election s.

Also under this election tribunal, we have the governorship and legislative election tribunal which is the most popular due to frequent lawsuits being filed contest election results in Nigeria. This type of tribunals specifically deals with Gubernatorial elections and also the state house of assembly elections.

Now let me tell you the function of the code of conduct tribunal. The code of conduct tribunal had this commencement date on the 1st of January 1991 however this is backed by the Constitution of the federal republic of Nigeria number 1 of 1989 laws of Nigerian federation specifically in this chapter C15 code of conduct bureau and tribunal act.

List backing has allowed and authorized the code of conduct tribunal to handle all complaints of corruption, negligence, and inefficiency that is being carried out by public servants.

Popular questions people ask if Nigeria has a fair justice system?

well, from what we’ve seen so far especially with the unconstitutional removal of the past Chief Justice of Nigeria – Justice Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen we can deduce that Nigerian legal system might not be fair especially will be the popular opinion of corrupt practices and the tendency of the lord to bend in favor of the rich in Nigeria.


The Nigerian justice system also comprises of criminal justice system and this could be found in 2 levels of Court which are the federal and state courts in Nigeria. the criminal justice system is present in all court of Nigeria except the northern state Court.

Nigerian judicial system faces some major challenges which undermined their effort in carrying out their duties and these include intimidation and manipulation of Lawyers and judges.

Also, another problem is delays of cases, inadequate infrastructure judicial corruption, and lastly dependence of the judicial system of the executive arm of government. so in order for the judiciary to carry out their duties properly and make the Nigerian justice system to work at the right standard these problems would have to be eliminated.

Now answer the question, who is the current Chief Justice of Nigeria in 2020?

The current Chief Justice of Nigeria is Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad.

the chief justice holds a very important position in the Nigerian legal system because who is the head of the judicial arm of government in Nigeria.

You should just do this presides over the Supreme Court of Nigeria and the national judicial council. Chief justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad got appointed as Nigeria’s chief justice on the 22nd of March 2019.

Before that he he was the acting chief justice after he got appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari on 25th of January 2019 and this was done to determine the outcome of a trial against chief justice Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen who was the former chief justice.

This is how the chief justice of Nigeria is appointed he’s been nominated by the president of Nigeria upon recommendation of the National judicial council and then he will be subject to confirmation by the senate House of the federal republic of Nigeria.

The terms for removal of the chief justice of Nigeria is by birth or the attainment of 70 years old or impeachment by the senate House and that will require the two-third of the majority of the members of the house.

Who is the Richest Man and Woman in Nigeria in 2020?

Before Ibrahim tanko became a Justice of Nigerian court of appeal from the year 1993 to 2006, he was a judge at Sharia court of appeal I was located in Bauchi state for the duration of 1991 to 1993.

Not just that yours also come a long way in the Nigeria justice system as he was made provost of the college of Islamic and legal studies in Bauchi state and that was in 1986 to 1989.

Chief justice Ibrahim tanko was born on the 31st of December 1953 and he had his law education and graduated from Ahmadu Bello University Zaria where he bagged his MSC and Ph.D. degrees.

Chief Justices of Federal Republic of Nigeria

Chief Justice Term
Sir Edwin Speed 1914–1918
Sir Ralph Combe 1918–1929
Donald Kingdon 1929–1946
Sir John Verity 1946–1954
Sir Stafford Sutton 1955–1958
Sir Adetokunbo Ademola 1958–1972
Taslim Olawale Elias 1972–1975
Darnley Arthur Alexander 1975–1979
Atanda Fatai Williams 1979–1983
George Sodeinde Sowemimo 1983–1985
Ayo Gabriel Irikefe 1985–1987
Mohammed Bello 1987–1995
Muhammad Lawal Uwais 1995–2006
Salihu Moddibo Alfa Belgore 2006–2007
Idris Legbo Kutigi 2007–2009
Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu 2009–2011
Dahiru Musdapher 2011–2012
Aloma Mariam Mukhtar[2][3] 2012–2014
Mahmud Mohammed 2014–2016
Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen 2017–2019
Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad 2019–present

Who designed the coat of arm of Nigeria?


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.