Who is the current President and Vice President OF Nigeria?


The current president of Nigeria is also known as the head of government and head of state of the federal republic of Nigeria.

The president is the commander in chief of the armed forces of Nigeria. The president who is being voted into power every 4 years has different offices titles powers that are contained in the office of the presidency and back by the 1979 Constitution of Nigeria.

The president of Nigeria currently who is Muhammadu Buhari, is the 15th president of the federal republic of Nigeria and he has warmed office on May 29, 2015, and got re-elected in 2019.

It is the part 1 chapter 4 section 131 of the Constitution of the federal republic of Nigeria that makes the provision of the eligibility for election into the office of the president, some of these criteria include;
Being a Nigerian citizen by birth must be above 35 years old and must have at least a school certificate level.

The vice president of Nigeria who is more like an assistant to the president but in politics is called the second in command to the government of Nigeria.

The office is called the vice president of the federal republic of Nigeria and he’s elected that alongside the president as his running mate in the national elections that has four years intervals. The office of the vice president of Nigeria is currently occupied by prof Yemi Osibanjo.

And just like the president of Nigeria daily’s ability of the office of the vice president of Nigeria is also backed by the constitution and has certain conditions which are a candidate must be at least 40 years of age, he must be a citizen of Nigeria by birth, must belong to a registered political party and must be sponsored by that party.

Office functions of President and vice president of Nigeria

Now let’s take a look at their functions assigned to these offices.

The constitution and the legislation have assigned these powers to the president which makes it capable to perform not just the function of the head of the state but also the head of the National executive.

He or she is responsible for giving assents and signing bills. It also has the power of referring a bill for reconsideration to the National Assembly.
Clarifying from the supreme court and the constitutionality of a bill. He can summon the national assembly for a special sitting. He can also appoint commissions of inquiry.

Through the recommendation of the National judicial council of Nigeria, the president can appoint the supreme court Justices of Nigeria but this is subject to confirmation by the Senate.
He can summon for the National referendum as an act of Parliament.

The president receives foreign diplomatic and consular representatives.
The president has the power to appoint diplomatic and consular representatives, ambassadors, and other federal offices based on the advice and consent of two-thirds of The Senate.

The president has the power to pardon offenders and remit fines penalties and forfeitures.
The president has the power to confirm honours on individuals.

The functions of the vice president of Nigeria include participating in cabinet meetings, being a member of the national security council, federal executive council, national defense council, and being the chairman of the National economic council.

The vice president has the responsibility of taking an active role to establish policy in the executive branch and he can achieve these by actively serving on these committees and councils. However, all the relative powers of the vice president solely depend on the president’s delegation of duties to him/her.

Salary of President and vice president of Nigeria

Having analyzed the current president and vice president of the federal republic of Nigeria and their functions of office let us take a look at their salaries and allowance.

President of Nigeria Muhammad Buhari and the vice president of Nigeria Prof. Yemi Osibanjo received a total of 26.18 million naira which is approximately $73000 yearly as their take-home pay.

this take-home pay consists of hardship and consistency allowances.

the remuneration of the president and vice president of the country includes their salary and their allowances.

The office of the president of federal republic of Nigeria that is held by president muhammadu Buhari receives the total sum of N1.17million monthly and this includes hardship allowance, the basic salary and consistency allowance.

Breaking it down, the monthly salary of the president of Nigeria is N292,892 with the consistency allowance at (250% of basic salary) N732,230 monthly and hardship allowance at N146,446.

The vice president of the federal republic of Nigeria – Prof. Yemi Osibanjo receives N1.01 million monthly as basic salary and basic includes the allowances listed for the president also.

The vice president of Nigeria gets N631,577 as a consistency allowance and N126,315 monthly as hardship allowance.

This is a bigger remuneration package in relation to that of the state governors. The Executive governors and deputy governors of a state in Nigeria receive N649,000 and N616,000 as their monthly salary respectively. This salary package includes hardship and consistency allowances.

However, the top political office holders in Nigeria get these extra allowances which are accommodation allowance, duty tour allowance (per night), motor vehicle fuelling, furniture, and maintenance allowance.

The huge amounts for these listed allowances are being provided outside official revenue mobilisation allocation framework.

Nigerian government is said to be one of the most expensive in the world as our politicians earn way higher than their foreign counterparts in differrent parts of the world.

No wonder they refuse to leave power and they take it as a do or die affair just for them to get there and embezzle resources meant for public usage.

List of Past Nigerian Presidents and their vice presidents

Vice President President/Head of State Type of Government Year
Babafemi Ogundipe Aguiyi Ironsi Military 16/1/1966- 29/7/1966
Joseph Edet A. Wey Yakubu Gowon Military 29/7/1966- 19/7/1975
Olusegun Obasanjo Murtala Mohammed Military 29/7/1975-13/2/1975
Shehu Musa Yar’dua Olusegun Obasanjo Military 13/2/1976-30/9/1979
Alex Ekwueme Shehu Shagari Military 1/10/1979-31/12/1983
Tunde Idiagbon Muhammadu Buhari Military 31/12/1985-27/8/1985
Ebitu Ukiwe Ibrahim Babangida Military 27/8/1985-17/10/1986
Augustu Aikhomu Ibrahim Babangida Military 17/10/1986-17/11/1993
Oladipo Diya Sani Abacha Military 17/11/1993-9/6/1998
Mike Akhigbe Abdulsalam Abubakar Military 9/6/1998-29/5/1999
Atiku Abubakar Olusegun Obasanjo Democratic 29/5/1999-29/5/2007
Goodluck Jonathan UmaruMusa Yar’Adua Democratic 29/5/2007-19/5/2010
Alh. M. Namadi Sambo Goodluck Jonathan Democratic 19/5/2010-29/5/2015
Yemi Osinbajo Muhammadu Buhari Democratic 29/5/2015-



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.